Finally…

 

I have decided to update this blog.  I am generally quite lazy when it comes to writing these things, but have been meaning to do so for quite some time.  Just to get my creative juices going.  My intention will be to write mainly about critiques of movies, arts and of that sorts, as well as general views I may have on some things. 
 
It is quite late so I will not be writing much, though if I have a few drinks that may change.  It has been awhile since I have seen any new movies.  I think working at the theatre for several years has tarnished that enthusiasm I used to have.  The mystique has been ruined, especially if you see the same scene over and over.  And since I worked in the late 90’s to early 2000, I have seen many recent movies come and go.  As a result, I seem to have a affinity to watch and catch up on older movies, the classics that were not around while I worked there.  I also have this theory that the mega multiplexes have essentially killed the movie industry (I’ll explain later with more details).
 
Some movies I need to catch up on are some Stanley Kubrick movies (Clockwork Orange), Alfred Hitchcock movies (I saw the original ‘Psycho’ recently, and it is truly a masterpiece, highly recommended.  A true classic), some of the past Oscar winning movies (from the 80’s and 70’s), Blade Runner… I can’t seem to think of anything else right now.  A movie I had recently scene that deserves praise is 2001: A Space Odyssey.  The reason being is in my view (as well as the critics and fans of it), this movie needs to be viewed more then once.  The first time I saw it, back in my university days, I had no clue what this movie was about, and why it was such a big deal.  And as with me and when it first premiered, it only gets better with time and multiple viewings.  Because this movie is open to interpretation, its highly recommended for those that enjoy the movies where it keeps you guessing at what the director is trying to get the viewer to feel.  Another important note, this movie requires patience.  Very slow scenes.  Being a laid back individual like myself, it suites me fine.  Others who are waiting for the action, the in your face scenes may not like this, but if you are up for a challenge, this is one movie to take. 
 
I also get a kick watching movies made in the past where they predict how the future will be (such as the year 2001). The furniture, clothes, technology.  Well, I’m off now.. until next time.

One thought on “Finally…

  1. blondless

    I’ve never been a true fan of outer space or science fiction movies..but I’ll try to watch 2001: A Space Odyssey if given the chance.  Your review better be good. :p
    RTC: Your so funny!  It was a good thing you and Su left early and miss the worst part. 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

